Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Yamaha YFH-6310Z
Reviews Views
8 14800
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,500.00 8.0

 

Description:
The Yamaha Z combines the tonal richness and depth of character of the older traditional flugels with the easy playability and superb intonation made possible by high-tech engineering. Inspired by legendary artist Bobby Shew, the Z features the perfect amount of air resistance to let you color the sound-your sound-exactly the way you want to. And it slots so nicely in the upper register you'll forget you're playing a flugel! A special 'Bobby Shew' signature mouthpiece is included which perfectly balances and complements the Z.



FEATURES
Vertical valve tubing
Traditionally, flugelhorns are made with vertical valve tubing.
Monel pistons
Monel pistons are resistant to corrosion and are an ideal choice for professional flugelhorn pistons which must retain precise fit and smooth action over many years.
Hand-lapped pistons and slides
Hand-lapping pistons and slides ensures an absolutely perfect fit and seal between the pistons and casing or slide parts. Such a perfect fit helps to achieve smooth air flow and smooth action and improve the response and intonation of the instrument.
Laser-fused pluzuma welded bell
A high-energy laser fuses the brass together for a virtually seamless bell which allows continuous even vibrations.
Movable mouthpiece receiver
Tuning is made easier with the movable mouthpiece receiver.
Pressure formed tubing
Perfectly rounded tubing results in less turbulence and a smoother air flow, thus allowing for an excellent scale and reduced resistance.
Available features
The YFH-6310Z flugelhorn is available in a silver-plated finish (YFH-6310ZS). It is available without a case or with a deluxe combo case (YAC 1366).

Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.413
Bell (inch): 5.000
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Website: http://www.yamaha.com
Keywords: Yamaha YFH-6310Z
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 12/14/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Warm sound, valves, case
Cons: none

 
This Flugel is reffered at Yamaha as the Bobby Shew model.
Great warm sound, just as a flugel must sound.
Valves (monel) are just incredible. Intonation in all ranges is no problem.
Comes with a fine case and MPC.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good sound
Cons: valve keep seizing

 
When you get the valves going this horn is great but if I leave it the case for more than a day I can't move the valves - very frustrating.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: really warm sound, valves a smooth, really nice to play
Cons: none what so ever

 
this is such a beautiful horn. i love to play it and i dont think i will ever get sick of it
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: at least the horn looks nice
Cons: valves

 
The valves on this horn are horrible. The buzzing comming from valves springs ruins the tone
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent quality and playibility
Cons: Wish the valve cap threads were a bit more coarse.

 
Must say I'm shocked to hear of valve problems mentioned above. These valves are as good or better than my Schilke's. I am talking SUPER slick. Having never owned a Yamaha, I am completely satisfied with the valves, and I am picky. (I use Hetman's #1 piston oil.)

As to the blow, it is nice and even top to bottom, and very responsive, easy to color. After a multiple mp safari, I settled with the Flip Oakes mp and the Wick 4FL. The Curry Fl is also a decent, but not as mellow as the others.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent build quality, great sweet sound
Cons: valves neeed regular oiling, but otherwise fine

 
Overall a great instrument with a wonderful sweet sound, just like a flugel
should sound. The valves are built to a high tolerance and need regular
oiling - but when looked after they are extremely slick. I personally have
come to love the action of this instrument although the first two
weeks I spent sometime getting acustomised to having to oil it every week.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Easy to play with the Shew mouthpiece, nice sound
Cons: valve caps don't always thread easily

 
Use lightweight oil on the valves or are sticky (I switched to Hetman's - made all the difference). I also own the Kanstul 1525 Signature. The Shew is lighter and doesn't project as strongly - or bend notes as easily - but has that deep sweet airy sound and easy to play. Great horn for the money.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/17/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Warm sound,
Cons: Valve alignment

 
I got my YAMAHA 6310Z about one year ago, I like the sound a lot but it's not as even as I wish. The slots in high register are not good, I need to lip the notes out.

But after Charlie Melk finished the valve alignment, it's turns to be a great instrument! intonation is much better, and the sound is much more even.

I vote 8 for the YAMAHA 6310Z and 10+ for Charlie!
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.