Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Yamaha YTR-6310Z
Reviews Views
11 18310
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $965.27 8.0

 

Description:
Yamaha's Z trumpets were designed in collaboration with jazz legend Bobby Shew. Bobby plays a wide variety of musical styles and dreamed of a single trumpet which would be equally suited for screaming lead, mellow jazz, ballads, 'legit' studio gigs, etc. It took many years of working with Bobby before we finally achieved our goal, but it was worth it. The Z trumpets are now used by top players throughout the world.


-------------------------------------------------


Lightweight Bb trumpet
Bell Material Yellow-brass
Bell 127mm (5")
ML bore 11.3mm (0.445")
Finish Gold lacquer
Mouthpiece 14B4
With silver-plate YTR-6310ZS


Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.445
Bell (inch): 5.000
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: Monel, 3
Website: http://www.yamaha.com
Keywords: Yamaha YTR-6310Z
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/26/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Intonation, projects well
Cons: None, really !

 
This is a great horn, best for all around
commercial work. BIG--FAT SOUND !!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/26/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,040.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: very responsive and flexible
Cons: requires most players to backoff to avoid overblowing

 
The Yamaha Z is a great overall horn, with excellent dynamics and easy range. The step bore design requires most players to back off on their air volume and play with great precision. When this is done endurance and range are enhanced with no sacrifice of tembre or volume.

Compared to the very best horns, it's not particularly resonant. Perhaps the 8310Z will resolve that "issue."

Dave
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 7/12/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: BIG fat sound, great upper register, nice valves
Cons: My horn is only 2.5 years old, and already has "red rot" in spots and blems in the finish in others.

 
I feel that the 6310Z is without doubt, one of the best "Commercial" horns on the market (I have yet to try the 8310Z, but from what I've heard, I may be buying a new horn soon).

I hear alot about people overblowing these horns at first, and I think I know why. I played about 12 different "Z Horns" the day that I bought mine, and they are not all created equal.

I have yet to find a trumpet brand that doesn't require spending the better part of a day to "weed" through the "not-quite-right" horns to find the "Awww-Yeah" horns.

Some of the 6310's I tried that day were extremely stuffy, especially coming from a very free blowing Bach. I had wittled it down to 2 or 3 that I wanted a closer look at, when the store rep brought one more in that they didn't know they had (Nice job with the inventory guys!). That last one blew me away.

I would give the playability of these horns a 9.5 overall, but the laquer job is a bit cruddy (I wouldn't mess with the silver plated "Z"'s. The silver takes away from the overall versatility of these horns.), and my horn already has a case of "red rot" which, as I understand it, comes from the cleaning process of the horns before plating or laquering, and I would only give that aspect about a 4 or 5.

As far as value, check out the Brasswind in Indiana. My "Z" put me back less than $1000. Way better price than alot of the horns that are supposed to be a deal, and the wide availability of the horns allows you to play before you pay without having to deal with sending horns back to the manufacturer.

I hope this was helpful to you all.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/26/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent pro horn, good price
Cons: Laquer job spoils the look of an otherwise great trumpet

 
I think a trumpet should be durable, well made, and allow the player to play the way he/she needs to play, AND challenge the player to perfect his/her craft.
This trumpet does all of the above.
The finish on many Yamaha horns are not great however, especially when exposed to tropical climates. The laquer peal peels and there are red rot spots. The brass also gets bumpy, but that doesn't affect the sound any.
I am into the quality of sound that I produce and the efficiency of that production, so the finish is a small matter when compared to the excellent quality of work that I can do with this trumpet.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very flexible, Good Intonation, wonderful Tone.
Cons: Laquer is starting to come off.

 
Very versatile horn. You can play lead, solo jazz, or orchestral on this horn.
The laquer is beautiful, but on my 2001, it's starting to come off. I remind you that this horn would not be a lightweight horn if it was not laquerad. Plays rather similarly to a Selmer K-Modified. Unfortunately, this horn doesn't quite hold up to my '56 Olds Recording.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very flexible, Good Intonation, wonderful Tone.
Cons: Laquer is starting to come off.

 
Very versatile horn. You can play lead, solo jazz, or orchestral on this horn.
The laquer is beautiful, but on my 2001, it's starting to come off. I remind you that this horn would not be a lightweight horn if it was not laquerad. Plays rather similarly to a Selmer K-Modified. Unfortunately, this horn doesn't quite hold up to my '56 Olds Recording.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/24/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Sound, Projection and very easy to play
Cons: Laquer finish

 
This is a great all-round horn, very easy to play because of the step-bore. You will not get tired playing it on long lasting giggs.
Great value for money compared to most of the expensive brands.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,328.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Easy to play, easy to hear your self, versatile, nice tone
Cons: Non so far

 
I tried around 10 trumpets (8310Z, 8335LA , 6330, some kanstul's, some callisio's) this one works best for me.

Very versatile sound. From sharp with lots of shizzle to smooth and warm.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 11/27/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easiness, resistance, color
Cons: none

 
It's a very good light weight horn! I bought one second hand, and played it for a period, later it's sold it to a student of mine.

6310Z has a very good resistance, I feel very comfortable to play on it. The sound is very good, but not as warm as 8310Z could be. (Personally, I prefer the sound of 8310z. ) But to use a flugelhorn mouthpiece with a Bob adapter, it has a very dark and warm sound. So for a while, I don't have to bring my flugelhorn for some church gigs.
It's a good solo horn, and really a job saver!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 3/8/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $650.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: easy to play, better than the 8310Z!!
Cons: poor quality: red rot after just a few years....

 
I bought the horn second hand, carefully mastered the leadpipe and tuning slide for red rot: None!
But at home I discovered red rot spots in the bell just after the first valve as well the surface of the valves started to disintegrate.... I emailed Yamaha but all silence on that front. Not so good....
Anyway, the 6310Z is a real great player, actually better than the 8310Z but I doubt the Shew horns will survive in the long terms.
The sound is great, if you like a big fat sound the 6310Z can be the horn for you, if you want to purchase a horn for the rest of your life better buy a B&S or a vintage Vincent Bach or Schilke etc.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 5/5/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: consistant, good valves
Cons: laquer/red rot

 
Horn sounds great and I could see how it would be great for jazz but it is already falling apart and has red rot all over it. If I were going to pay regular price for a trumpet, I would just buy a strad.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.