Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Zeus ZTR1000
Reviews Views
14 21921
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2,067.50 9.3

 

Description:
Specifications:

One piece hand-made bell, 5 1/4" diameter,
.470" large bore,
Reverse leadpipe design,
One Amado waterkey,
Heavy bottom caps standard,
Monel hand-fitted valves,
Brass valve guides,
Perfectly balanced design,

Comes with:
ProTec case, ZeuS C3 mouthpiece and string.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.470
Bell (inch): 5.250
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Website: http://www.zacharymusic.com
Keywords: Zeus ZTR1000
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 2/22/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Free-blowing, excellent intonation, tremendous tone, power and projection.
Cons:

 
To begin with, the trumpet is incredibly balanced! It feels so light in your hands because of the "valves forward" design. This keeps the horn from wanting to tip either forward or backward. This greatly helps in relieveing fatigue during long playing sessions.

When played, the horn seems to "come alive," or resonate, in your hand. I believe this is due to the minimal bracing employed in the construction of this instrument. What you get with this instrument is a rich, full tone, full of harmonics!

Playing the horn feels very solid and secure - the notes slot extremely well! This is most likely due to the heavy valve caps that come standard with this instrument.

The Olympus is also extremely free blowing, with a huge bottom end, and a sizzling high end! I attribute these characteristics to the trumpet's large bell, large bore, and reverse leadpipe design!

In short, this instrument has everything that you do need, and nothing that you don't.

This instrument comes in 12 different finishes, are meticulously crafted, and I sincerely believe that you CANNOT find a better new instrument, for the price ($1500 - $1700), ANYWHERE!

GTM


Moderator: It should be noted that GTM is a dealer of Zeus Trumpets. He is also however a trumpet player, and this review reflects his experience playing this horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/22/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Intonation, responce, over all tone and if you go for this the look, "kick ass"
Cons: I like stiff valve springs, so I changed them (easy), but I think I may go back to the originals (lighter to the touch).

 
Well I'm not going to fill you with a bounch of crap, that sounds like an advertisment. I will say that I played a Conn Vintage one, and a Yannaha Xeno, and they are both good (maybe even great) horns but neither "felt" good to me. I have been playing a majority of my work on a costumised "frankenBach", and I still love it! All the new horns I played just left me wanting to go back to it.
So I thought I would try out this ZeuS Olympus. I had not heard of ZeuS so I was naturally a bit of a sceptic. So after some research I decided to try it.
It was history in the making, maybe the Larg bore combined with the Bell "It's huge!" or the valves forward "I am not an engineer", but it "feels good", and from an out-side ear, my colleagues agree that it has a warm "dark" tone, but not to a point that it dosn't blend with others.
Enough... Bla bla I would recomend it to anyone. If Alex is a bit harsh with you at first don't take it personal he's really cool.
If you have any questions just e-mail me at Waller.zan@juno.com
Zan
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/10/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality, finish (mine is silver), & tone.
Cons: 3'rd valve slide has rubber band securing it, would prefer Schilke style stop.

 
I found this horn by accident and after doing some research and reading the testimonials I decided to try it. Anyone that says that the horn is not as good as they say is full of crap. Although I am a not a "professional" trumpet player I have found the horn to be everything that they say it is. Previously I have been playing on a vintage Holton MF ST302. All of my friends, some of them incredible players, who have played the horn do not want to put it down. The large bell really makes a for an incredible lead horn, but the horn also has fantastic dynamic control as long as you have the air for such a large bore. It will take what ever you give it. I have total control up to G above high C and am working up to double C. The horn plays totally in tune. The polished silver finish has a very bright tone and I would recommend one of the other lacquer finishes for something more mellow if you are not playing lead. From what I hear "through the grape vine" the horn is probably made by Kanstul. The only thing that I would change if I could is the stupid rubber band holding the 3'rd valve slide from falling out. A Schilke screw type stop would be welcomed. I am going to see about having mine modified by a local repair guy. Thanks Alex, Jeff Shields.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/12/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: hand-made, excellent intonation, price
Cons:

 
Excellent trumpet...
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/28/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,475.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Balanced Feel, Slots well, Large Bell, Nice Overall Tone, Easy to play - no resistance.
Cons: Long Wait for delivery

 
Have been playing for over 26 years and haven't found a better playing, sounding horn on the market. However, I am only comparing to all the other horns I have owned and played, such as MF horns, Bach, Callet, LeBlanc Sandoval, Bobby Shew Yamaha's, Schilke, Getzen, King Legend, and a few more. I am however, not saying that it plays better or is made better than other horns such as Taylor Chicago, Flip Oaks Wild Thing, Monette, etc. However, I think these are and maybe somewhat over rated as well. The thing is here, it is a fine playing horn and for the quality you get, you also get a good price tag. The horn doesn't make the player, that comes from the right kind of practice and a lot of dedication. If you want a good solid horn that will offer some great features at a great price, I would suggest looking into the Olympus. It is a quality made professional level horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/10/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Free blowing, loose, focused, sultry or screamin......what more?
Cons: none

 
I've read a ton of reviews about this horn, mostly turned out to be reviews of the builder of this horn. Trumpet players seem to be just a bunch of women catfighting about the people, the products, and egos of this profession. I am not a professional, with that said I am one of the top players in the world......you know me, I'm under contract to another brass house.....this trumpet...one of the top five available today. period. What makes it unbelievable is the price. I paid $1700.00. I used a surrogate to purchase the unit for me. I must remain anonymous. Simple, excellent design makes for simple, excellent music production. It allows your humanity, and soul, to be heard. Thanks.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,550.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Beautiful quality, large bell, open sound, large bore
Cons: un-focused sound, tuning problems, airy sound

 
I purchased this horn (Zeus Olympus) from a Zeus dealer for $2,550 sight unseen. After getting the horn home, I played for hours. I loved the valves, the huge reverse lead pipe, the weight was perfectly balanced, the horn's finish (polished raw brass) is flawless, the Monel valves are buttery smooth. The problems began when I compared it to a Bach Strad or Yamaha Zeno or a Yamaha MV 6334, which I have played for years. I will agree that there seems to be no end to it and that it is as free blowing as any horn I've ever played. However, compared to the other horns mentioned, the sound was not focused, very diffused and sounded "airy," when compared to the focused, centered sound of the other horns. It is a beautiful horn and when I am leading my "big band" in the future, it will probably be wonderful for me. However, I play in a concert band currently and it doesn't sound nearly as centered and focused as the other horns mentioned.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great intonation, free blowing, powerful and trmendous projection, best looking horn.
Cons: None

 
I am extremely pleased...
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bell size, very balanced,
Cons:

 
I am a professional trumpet player, and I have been playing with vincent bach strad, for 5yrs. Since I purchased my Zeus Olympus trumpet, the response of the horn and the sound quality never ceases to amaze me. This is one of the best trumpets on the market. I highly recommend it, especially for jazz players
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: A bit bright but that could very well be me

 
Ok, as a hobby, cheaper than golf, I have been trading horns and learning what I didn't know prior to quiting professional playing 20 yrs. ago in favor of business. I have played 3 Calicchio's, 1 Schilke, 2 Bachs, 1 Callet Jazz, 1 Lawler, a couple Yamaha's, and 1 Wild Thing. The Zeus is in my top picks along with the Lawler, Callet and Calicchio Solo Copper, all having the reversed tuning slide so that seems to be my personal preference. All the above horns and good/fine horns and sound is determined by the player moreso than the horn as I have run tests on the subject. I will play the Zeus until something else strikes my fancy. Wonderful horn. Looks cool too as did the Calicchio Solo Copper but the Zeus is much lighter/easier to hold, and that does make a difference when one moves on in years. For me, this horn and the Callet Jazz are all around horns capable of doing anything well whereas for me the others were more specialty horns.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/12/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Free-blowing, nice resonance with raw copper
Cons: any raw metal is hard to keep up

 
Good horn, quality made. I've played a lot of trumpets, and my favorite, still in my collection, is my early '70s Benge, also hand built by Zig Kanstul.

The Zeus has a fast, light valve action that is as pleasing to play as the Benge and it's a newer horn, which makes it so much nicer as well. You will like playing this horn if you get one. Nice to see a good, American-made product that can still compete with the best.

It may not be the best horn out there, but you'll have to look mighty hard to find a better one for the money.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 9/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,770.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: easy to play, flexible, well slotted, unbelivable lows and highs
Cons: none

 
I have purchased a gold trimmed Zeus Olympus a month ago. I was shocked by the easyness of playing high and extreme low tones. Sometimes I really sound like my favorit trumpet players. It is a very flexible instrument. I love it, I hardly can put it down. The finish and ventils are also precise and the trumpet looks excellent. The (double)carrying case provedes good protection, but I think I will replace it for a leather case that fits this pro trumpet better. The Aegis mouthpiece is very confortable, I like it (altough gold plating omitted). Before I was using Bach 7C. The trumpet is made by Kanstul and it is almost identical to the Signature series 1500A. Zeus has got a better price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/11/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tone quality is amazing. Water key, reverse lead pipe. Projection and tone.
Cons:

 
I've only been playing trumpet for about 7 years. I'm still in high school. I've went through numerous trumpets, Holtons, Bachs...But a week ago, my band director gave me this horn. I went home and played it for HOURS on end. The tone quality of the horn is amazing. The construction is superb as well. The reverse lead pipe without the extra brace just makes the horn sound ten times better than any other horn I've played. He gave me the horn to audition for colleges with, and I'm really looking forward to doing that with this amazing horn.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 8/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $3,000.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Beautiful horn, great mello sound
Cons: Absolutely NO customer support

 
I really wish I could give the horn a "10". I gave it a "5" only because though the horn is a "10", the support Alex of Zachary Music gives you after you buy the horn is "0".

I love this horn. I ordered a 24K gold plated Zeus Olympus ZTR1000 - their top of the line. It took me a bit over a month to get it, but it was worth it. I fell in love with it immediately. However, after about a month, I noticed that it was pitting and tarnishing. 24K gold plate tarnishing? Impossible. Yet it was. I called Alex to tell him what was going on. He said it was probably the case (but this is a gold plated horn!). Anyway I tried everything but nothing worked. Alex never answered anymore of my calls or emails. I then called Kanstuhl and they were very nice and informative. They told me they do make then trumpets for Alex, but told me that he orders them in raw brass and has them plated himself. they did not plate his horns. He has still not responded to any of my emails or phone calls.

I expect a vendor to stand by their product - especially their top of the line product. Yet he does not. He refuses to replate it. He refuses to even call me back. Do not trust him or do business with him. Though the horn is a beauty, if anything goes wrong, you are up a creek. He will not support the products he sells (he even says this on his website ("all sales are final - no returns"). I should have read the fine print. Now I am out $3K and a lot of heartache.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.